Hindsight

Theatre (new writing, drama)

Add to favourites
  • Accessibility:
    Wheelchair Accessible Toilets
    May not apply to all performances. You'll find more information about accessibile performances and how to book tickets in the accessibility tab below.
  • Babes in arms policy: Babies do not require a ticket
  • Policy applies to: Children under 2 years

Description

The pieces of the puzzle that make up Laura’s brain don’t seem to fit. When the world doesn’t make sense to her, at school she is labelled problematic. The relationships that Laura has with her mother, teacher and self, highlight that we cannot always see what is in front of us, whether barriers are circumstance or subconscious. It takes just a moment to change everything and begin a new way of thinking. Returning after a 2016 sell-out, Fox & Hound premiere new play Hindsight. Shortlisted for the 2016 David MacLennan writing Award.

Please note that while all media gallery content is provided by verified members of the event, the Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society does not review or approve this content before it is posted. Reports of inappropriate content or copyright infringement can be directed to [email protected].

General venue access

  • Wheelchair Accessible Toilets
  • Accessible entry: If not taking the lift there is a large flight to 1st floor of hotel then a further 4 steps to venue.
  • Wheelchair access type: Standard passenger lift to 1st floor then platform lift up the 4 steps.

  • Stairs: 11- 20
    Number of stairs is provided as guidance and is not in addition to any wheelchair access type (lift/ramp etc) stated above.

Each venue can contain several space with different accessibly information. Visit the venue page for full venue accessibility info


How and when to make an access booking

Our access tickets service is available to anyone who:

  • Would like to book specific accessibility services, e.g. a hearing loop, audio description headsets, captioning units, seating in relation to the location of the BSL interpreter
  • Requires extra assistance when at a venue
  • Has specific seating requirements
  • Is a wheelchair user
  • Requires a complimentary personal assistant ticket to attend a performance

John Tuson 93 days ago

Impressive acting. Occasionally slightly creaky script, but nonetheless engaging and intelligent.

Nathalie Solandt de Araujo 98 days ago

Very touching, poignant, and moving play about people who do not ‘fit’ the conventional school system and makes you ask why? And why the system cannot be flexible to encompass more children in different ways. Well acted by the main character Laura.

Al Farrer 102 days ago

A very moving play. The two young actors performed with maturity and self-assurance, the two older actors weren't bad either. The multi-purpose set was versatile and practical. I particularly liked the sound and lighting effects used to convey the state of confusion in Laura's mind. Well done Fox and Hound Theatre.

judith gray 103 days ago

A fantastic play about an autistic girl and the school system - brilliant performances from all and very moving. Highly recommend seeing this!

Rozi Thomson 104 days ago

Very moving play, brilliantly acted, thoroughly authentic. The characters will be with me for some time. If you are dithering on what to see, see this!

Stephen Barnaby 104 days ago

This is a deeply moving play about an autistic girl's experiences at school and her relationships with her mother and her teacher. Jill Franklin's writing allows us to sympathise and see the perspective of all the characters but the portrayal of the central character's experience of autism is particularly powerful. All the performances are terrific, but the two 15(!) year old cast members are astonishingly good. A hugely affecting piece of theatre - very highly recommended.

Pamela Dupre 104 days ago

What an emotional, true vision of the experience of a mother and her autistic daughter.
The play should be seen by all teachers/pupils/parents/friends... Well, basically everyone to develop understanding.
It's a must see.

Susan Hall 107 days ago

I can not recommend this show enough, I was so moved by its contents and commitment of the actors all of whom gave it 100% the whole package made for a fantastic evenings entertainment. Highly recommended to all.

Mark Reynolds 109 days ago

If you want a show that picks at a fundamental societal and educational issue, and does it well, this is for you. However, the space this is performed in follows thrust staging, I was the awkward bloke who chose to sit on a side, and quickly regretted that choice. If you attend this show, sit in the middle. Fantastic acting from all four cast members shines through in this performance, despite a little slow start on the narrative. I really enjoyed this, and I would have liked to see the show keep going after it ended, but awkward scene changes and inconvenient staging means I'd prefer to see this come back next year, long, faster and better.

Jennifer Fox 111 days ago

Fantastic play, fabulous acting. A definite must see, take a hanky!!


Participants - for further details on our audience and published review policies, including how to add or opt out of reviews, please click here.

The Scotsman (3/5 stars) 99 days ago

School sums are ever more threatening for dreamy 12-year-old Laura; as the teacher threatens and the class laughs, her only friend is her toy bear, but toys break the school rules....

Read the full review

Fest (3/5 stars) 110 days ago

Laura isn’t doing well in school. She is disruptive, her teacher says, unable to focus and a danger to the other children. Something needs to be done. When we meet Laura, she is sweet and vulnerable: practicing dance routines, playing with her beloved doll Bear, and agonisingly questioning why the...

Read the full review


Participants - for further details on our audience and published review policies, including how to add or opt out of reviews, please click here.

Please login to add a review


Participants - for further details on our audience and published review policies, including how to add or opt out of reviews, please click here.